Agropolis Louis Malassis International Scientific Prize

Agropolis Louis Malassis International Scientific Prize

Entries are now open for the Agropolis Louis Malassis International Scientific Prize for Agriculture and Food.

The Prize, given once every two years, aims to recognize individuals, or a group of individuals, for their exemplary and promising contribution in promoting innovation through research, development and/or capacity building in the North, South or in the Mediterranean in order to improve food and agricultural systems sustainability as well as to address food security and poverty reduction.

 The Prize recognizes individuals whose scientific works are not only important contribution to the production of knowledge but are also actively promoting the use of knowledge in addressing current development challenges, and are involved in fomenting collective action acrossstakeholders.

 For the 2021 edition of the Prize, the Foundation is looking for individuals whose work are contributing towards agroecological transition, in particular, through efforts designed to address (1) agricultural adaptation and/or mitigation to face climate change; (2) conservation and sustainable use of agrobiodiversity; or (3) responsible production and consumption


 The Prize has three categories:


  • Young Promising Scientist Prize;
  • Distinguished Scientist Prize; and
  • Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development.


Prize Information


  • The Young Promising Scientist Prize comes with a €5,000 cash prize and a €15,000 worth of scientific mobility grant to any of the research labs that are part of Agropolis Fondation’s scientific network.
  •  The Distinguished Scientist and the Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development Prizes come with a €20,000 cash prize.


Eligibility Criteria


  • To be eligible for the Prize, candidates should be from any of the following categories:
    • Academic or research organization, public orprivate;
    • Civil society organization;
    • Private sector group (e.g., small/medium enterprises).
  • A group nomination should consist of no more than three persons. Each nominee (and each member of a group, in the case of a group nomination) should meet the following criteria:
    • For the “Young Promising Scientist” Category
    • Holds a PhD degree;
    • At least 5 years of professional experience (outside of PhD education);
    • Demonstrated potential in one or various fields covered by the Prize, as stated in Article 1;
    • Should be no more than 40 years old by 01 January 2021. Due consideration will be accorded to female candidates who have had maternityleave(s) in the course of their career.
  • For the “Distinguished Scientist” Category
    • Holds a PhD degree;
    • At least 15 years of professional experience;
    • Proven significant contribution in one or various fields covered by the Prize, as stated in Article 1.
  • For the “Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development” Category
    • At least 20 years of professional experience;
    • Given to a person whose is still professionally active and whose career has been devoted to agricultural development, be it in the field of research, training, innovation, capacity building, development or policy in any of the fields covered by the Prize, as stated in Article 1.
  • Only complete Application Packages submitted no later than the set deadline will be considered for the Prize.


Selection Criteria


The selection by the jury is based on the relevance of the dossier with respect to the category of the Prize the application belongs to.


Candidates are evaluated and selected based on the following criteria: 


  • Scientific quality of the contribution of the Candidate;
  • (Potential) Impacts of the contribution to Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs);
  • Quality of partnerships developed and established, notably with the civil society, e.g. non government organizations, farmers and producers organizations, etc.


Post Date - 21-Aug-2020

Grants Categories

Subscribe to newsletter

Subscribe, We'll send you the latest grants and blogs for free

Email is not in correct format

Portal365 uses cookies to provide necessary site functionality and improve your experience. By using our website, you agree to our privacy policy and our cookie policy.