United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) is inviting nominations for Nansen Refugee Award 2021. Nominate now if you know of an inspirational individual or group making a difference.

Each year, UNHCR searches for extraordinary persons who go beyond the call of duty in supporting refugees, internally displaced and stateless people.

The laureate receives USD 150,000 to invest in their humanitarian work. Additionally, four regional winners from each global region are selected and honoured with a certificate.

Nomination Criteria

  • When reviewing nominations, the following criteria are considered:
    • Candidates may be individuals, groups or organizations. Every Nansen Refugee Award laureate and regional winners spend an extraordinary amount of time and effort to help the forcibly displaced:
      • The nominee's work goes beyond the call of duty and outside of normal activities;
      • The nominee's work demonstrates courage - they might at times face personal risk for his/her/their work;
      • The nominee's work has a direct positive impact on the lives of forcibly displaced or stateless people;
      • The work is connected to a major displacement issue or situation.
  • Nominators: Anyone may submit a candidate for the Nansen Refugee Award. The award welcomes the nomination of any deserving individual, group or organization. Finalists from previous year are still eligible.
  • Please note self-nominations are strongly discouraged.
  • Eligibility: Current or former UNHCR employees are ineligible.
  • References: Three references must be provided. References should be diversely selected (not all from the same organisation or group). The nomination will be ineligible without three referees.

Selection Process

  • The Nansen Refugee Award Selection Committee is an independent body which selects the annual laureate and four regional winners.
  • Please note that the selection process remains strictly confidential, and no information regarding the status of your nomination will be released.
  • The 2021 laureate and regional winners will be announced in September 2021.


Post Date - 20-Nov-2020

Grants Categories

Subscribe to newsletter

Subscribe, We'll send you the latest grants and blogs for free

Email is not in correct format

Portal365 uses cookies to provide necessary site functionality and improve your experience. By using our website, you agree to our privacy policy and our cookie policy.